The Foundation

friendship-betrayal

My roommate pointed out we have an awful lot of plastic bags in our pantry. This is undoubtedly a result of going to Walgreens or Rite Aid several times a week for various things, as it’s closest to my apartment. I don’t know why I say things, it’s always just pasta, ice cream, and Utz Hot Curls. 99 cents, they’re dope.

She was nice enough to have given me a tote bag to use. As the hunger hit for da hot curlz, I decided to pick up the usual various things, along with Q-tips and a Diet Pepsi. I became a weirdo at this point because I didn’t grab a basket thinking I’d be able to handle all I was originally purchasing, and I refused to use the tote out of a socially awkward disposition against anyone possibly thinking I’m thinking about stealing, which is more rooted in the fact I just care in general what people think of me too much.

So finally I tapped and decided to go get some help. I put everything down by the Q-tips, got a basket, went back and proceeded to gather up things left. Peter was on tonight, who’s a cool kid. Not as cool as Michael from Rite Aid, but ill in his own regard none-the-less. We had a chat, I paid, and was on my way back.

Upon putting things away, I realized my Diet Pepsi was missing. Did Peter mess up or did I forget to grab it? Peter was my initial thought. I said to myself, “Myself.. Peter wouldn’t do that, man. You know this. You’ve built such a foundation of trust and general camaraderie that the astronomical odds of that far surpass being struck by lighting-Pete wouldn’t do that to ya!”

I wanted to believe it but I wanted to buy that Diet Pepsi so bad, there’s no way I had forgotten it. Peter had forsaken me.


Left it next to the Q-tips. Bought that one and another.
2/$3, not bad.

…now how do I come clean to Peter about this?

Leave a Reply

