That Man in the Mirror…

reflection-in-mirror

I don’t know what it is about my buddy Chris’ bathroom mirror, but I look really good in it. Whether it be the lighting and the angle of shadows, or perhaps the glass was tempered differently, I look 11% more attractive in his mirror. At times, I think about setting up my dates for his bathroom in some weird, abstract way but I feel that really limits my pool of choices to Yoko Ono artsy types, and we all know what happens after you meet a Yoko Ono artsy type. You lose are your friends, you start dressing differently, you get shot, it’s no good!

Then I get into thought about it. I’m the same person outside of that mirror as I am in it so why do I feel this way? I feel pressured to look better at any given time than I already do when I’m trying my best and that’s not a good feeling. I’m almost 30 years old and I still haven’t figured out that it really doesn’t matter all that much. Being caught up in someone’s opinion of me only hinders me from progress as a person. Sure, they’re are plenty of day-to-day activities you may have to alter who you are to get by, work or what have you, but on my own time, during my own bathroom regiment, why should I stop to take time to compare Chris’ Bathroom mirror to mine? Something so trivial. What else am I doing this with in life?

Just live and along the way cool shit will happen to you. Spend it stuck on the minor details and you may miss the big picture. Everyone sort of goes through puberty twice. Once your body changes, and then later on your mind changes. You spend some years getting comfortable with the person you are growing into and then you be that person. Age differs for most, as is apparent here, but as long as you embrace the change, love who you are, and continue forward, that’s all you can really hope for. You will see the change in yourself, whether in your mirror or a stranger’s.

2 thoughts on “That Man in the Mirror…

Leave a Reply

